More About Your Beloved Gym Rat

Just a little bit more information about me, your lovely gym rat! I tried to think of 5 commonly asked questions when you first meet someone new, and answered them. Let me know if you have any others :)



1. Where do you go to school?
I go to school at Penn State Berks Campus. I was planning on transferring to University Park after my sophomore year at Berks, but decided against it when I switched majors from Hotel and Restaurant Management to Kinesiology at the beginning of my sophomore year. I decided to stay at Berks because they have a more well-rounded Kines program (others will argue that) and I really like the student:teacher ratio that we have at Berks. 

2. What do you want to do with your Kinesiology degree?
I want to open up my own personal training business once I graduate. I'd like to do at-home workouts with clients as well as in-gym workouts. I would eventually like to open up my own fitness facility as well. I haven't decided if I want to go to grad school after I graduate. 

3. Where are you from?
I was born in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania and lived there for the first year or two of my life. My family then moved to the rural area of Boyertown, Pennsylvania. I great up on 14 acres of nothing but woods and dirt roads. I have been living away from my parents since college, and currently reside in the great city of Reading, Pennsylvania (oh, I just love it here ;) ) After college, I would eventually like to move out of state and live somewhere warm. 

4. How long have you been into fitness and nutrition? 
I really became interested in fitness the second semester of my freshman year of college. Since starting college, I had gained that infamous "freshman 15." I was extremely unhappy with the way I looked and wanted to do something about it. That is when my interest in fitness and nutrition really took off. I saw results fast and loved what I was seeing. Now, you can't pull me away from the gym or healthy foods for more than a day or two! 

5. What is your favorite exercise?
I have different favorites depending on what body part I'm working out. 
For my lower body workouts, I love, love love my cable kickbacks!
Shoulders day I am obsessed with leaning lateral raises. 
For chest, I love doing stability ball dumbbell press.
Biceps - love my cable curls.
I always do my cable overhead extensions on triceps day. 
For back, my favorite exercise is the lat pull down. 


Some other things you should know about me:
My favorite person to workout with is my beloved, Derek. He helps motivate me when I'm having an off day, takes all of my workout pictures, gives me helpful advice and ideas for my workouts, and is always bringing a smile to my face if ever I need one. 

The other love of my life is our dog, Jackson. I spoil this animal like no other. I have recently put Jackson on his own diet, because he's been spoiled a little bit too much and has gotten rather plump :( woops. 


After I graduate, I would really like to start doing figure competitions. Right now, I don't have the time or money to focus on my workouts and eating habits like I will need to for a competition, but once I graduate, that will be one of the top things on my bucket list to do - compete. 

I (obviously) love, love, love giving advice about fitness and nutrition. When I'm talking to someone who is interested in learning more about fitness/nutrition or who can share some of their own advice, I'm in heaven :) 

I have a mother, a father, and 3 siblings. My siblings and I are each very, very different. 

1 comment: